• Contact
  • News

Obion County

 

 

 

 

Chamber of Commerce

 

Area Businesses

 

Created on October 24, 1823, and organized on January 19, 1824, the county took its name from the Obion River.  Situated in the rolling hills of Northwest Tennessee, Obion County has earned the nickname “Land of Green Pastures.”

Many early settlers were Scots-Irish from the Carolinas and Virginia. The first known white settler was Elisha Parker, who arrived in the area in 1819. In 1820 Colonel W. M. Wilson settled three miles southwest of the future town of Troy; organization of Obion County took place in his cabin. Davy Crockett was among those present on March 16, 1825, when the county seat of Troy was laid out. Crockett’s association with the history of Obion County is well known; he served the area in the U.S. House of Representatives, and his claim of a record kill of 103 bears was made in Obion County.

The history of Union City, the present county seat, was tied to the railroads. Laid out in 1854 by General George Gibbs on land he received in 1829, the town derived its name from the intersection of the Nashville and Northwestern Railroad with the Mobile and Ohio Railroad.

Obion County's rich history is visible in many places.  Stop by the Obion County Museum; Dixie Gun Works, the world’s largest supplier of antique guns and parts; the Obion County Courthouse, built by the Public Works Administration in 1939-40 and the park’s covered bridge near Trimble are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. In 1997 Main Street Union City sponsored a multiple property National Register nomination which listed over one hundred additional properties in Union City, including the Capitol Theater, Central School, and the Union City Armory.